The Show Must Go On…

Standard

Show must go on 2

The past few weeks, I have been feverishly preparing for a fairly major work event…and we’re not ready.

The event kicks off this week, and we are still working on some of the major details: agenda, presentations, etc.

Now, I’m not new to business or to these kinds of events…there are always last-minute changes, and updates. And that’s fine. But this time I’m feeling completely unprepared and incredibly anxious about the glass balls in the air that will shatter when they hit the ground. (I’m less concerned with the rubber ones that will bounce, and I can catch on the way back up.)

My regular readers (translation – my sister) know that this is my first major project in my recently started new job. Maybe that’s why I’m feeling unprepared? Not really. These kinds of events are really pretty common within business, and while the content may change slightly from corporation to corporation, the nuts and bolts are pretty consistent.

But the whole thing got me thinking…how often I feel discombobulated in many aspects of my life. I enjoying trying new things, because it’s the new that makes life interesting. But I’m a girl who like to have a plan. When I try something new, there is always a little voice in my head that says, “Wait…what’s next? What haven’t I planned for?”

Now I’m sure this event will all work out, like it usually does. And while I have tried to plan for every eventuality, if something happens, we’ll do what we can and what’s needed to fix it. At some point in all this, I’ve realized – like in all parts of my life, the show must go on.

One thought on “The Show Must Go On…

Leave a Reply

