Can You Live the Fantasy Life?

Standard

Fantasy Football 3

So we are in Week 6 of the 2014-2015 National Football League Season…and Week 6 of the Fantasy Football life.

My husband was an “early adopter” of Fantasy Football, meaning that the first opportunity he got to pretend he owns a football team, he took it. So football season in our house has been “interesting” for years. Suffice it to say, the kids learned at a very early age not to talk to Daddy on Sundays after Noon Central. Sadly, their language skills also took a turn for the blue.

Now let me be clear: I am a football fan. I have been a football fan since college, although I don’t, and never did, follow college football. I am an NFL Girl all the way. Baseball on television more often than not is like watching grass grow, and basketball…well, you really only need to watch the last two minutes as far as I’m concerned…even if you are invested in the outcome.

But football? That is for me…I love the fact that it is fairly condensed, with most of the games played on Sundays. I love that my whole Sunday is dedicated to football, starting with the Noon kick-off and running straight through to the last seconds of the Sunday Night Football game…if I can stay up that late. I love the fact that the games all convenient come with a third quarter where generally, nothing happens, making it PERFECT for a quick 30-minute nap.

In the past few years, I have even come to love most of the pre-game shows and their “crews.” Fox Sports has by far the best, funniest crew out there, with Long, Bradshaw, Strahan and Johnson. But I do still love ESPN or whatever channel Michael Irvin is on. (I have loved Irvin since he was a star receiver on the Dallas Cowboys…back when they were actually good.)

Now being from the Chicago area, I am a Bears fan at heart. And like most Chicago sports fans, I will bash the Bears with the best of them. But I have always had a soft spot for the Cowboys, which started back when they were America’s Team and even as far back as the Danny White days. Surprisingly, I also kind of like the Vikings and Lions, despite the fact that they are both in the Bears division. And while this may generate a firestorm of comments (which would be a first for my blog), I even liked the Packers for a brief time when Favre was taking the snaps. He was just fun to watch, because he clearly was having fun.

So after years of watching – and listening to — my husband play Fantasy Football, and suck our son into it, I decided to take the plunge. Technically, I am the owner, I did the draft and I make the week-to-week decisions. But because I am a newbie and I don’t have the head for stats…like remembering that this running back gained more than 200 yards back in 2012 or that wide receiver caught 12 passes back in his Pop Warner days…my husband has a habit of moving players around without telling me. He calls himself the Puppet Master. Which I am generally fine with. As of right now, I’m sitting atop the league, although that may change depending on tonight’s game. And I have no problem being the decorative figurehead…and he knows not to take Witten out without my approval.

I never thought I would like it, but I think I can actually live the fantasy life.

 

Leave a Reply

