The Dog Days

Standard

Dog Days 2

I can’t believe summer is winding down already and we are entering the Dog Days, defined as the hottest period of the year. Fun fact:  Historically, it coincided with the heliacal rising of Sirius, the Dog Star.

How do I know this? My kids start back to school over the next couple weeks. I can tell that the evenings are starting to get dark a little tiny bit earlier each night. I can feel the opportunities slipping away for that afternoon in the sun.

Normally, I kind of like this time of year. Usually, by this point in the summer, I’m kind of ready for the change in season. But this year is a bit different. Here in the Midwest, we have had a lovely summer. Perhaps the Weather Gods are trying to show their remorse for the uber-winter we had, but mostly sunny and temps in the 70’s to 80’s with generally cool nights (perfect for sleeping!). Very few 90-degree+ days and overall generally manageable humidity levels (translation – not tropic). And I find myself wishing that we’d had just a couple more days of really hot and humid.

Now many people, including the rest of my family, think I’m nuts. (Well, to be honest, probably for more than just my thoughts on the weather, but…) But it’s because it’s been so beautiful this summer that I’m a little sad.

Generally by this time we have had those super-hot days where you feel like you are truly melting into a puddle. And the humidity is so high that when you walk outside, it’s like being smacked in the face with a giant wet sponge. And we Midwesterners get the chance to complain. This restores balance to the universe, because we spent equal time in winter complaining about the cold and ice.

I feel balance-less right now. I complained SO much last winter about the cold, swearing that I would NEVER be warm again, I assumed I would get equal time complaining about the heat and humidity. When that balance exists, I can happily look forward to getting my sweaters and hoodies out of storage. Without that balance, the end of summer (and the approach of winter…again) feels like that much more of a loss.

Who knows? This is the Midwest and we have a saying: “If you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes because it will change.” We could still get some of the heat and humidity that I so crave. Maybe it will happen as soon as the kids are back in school…with no air conditioning. Maybe it will be after I return to the working world…where I have to dress like a grown-up professional, which means no shorts and tank tops. Maybe this means that the upcoming winter will be mild. Who can say?

I guess my only option is to go sit in the sun and soak up as much of the heat as my little body can store. And enjoy whatever “Dog Days” we get.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Dog Days

Leave a Reply

