Shameless Self-Promotion

Standard

Self promotion

I’m not a good salesperson.

I’m that person that always shares a compliment, as a “team effort.” I’m that person that responds with “aw shucks” when someone says good job. I have a really hard time selling a product or service, even one I really believe in, because even though it is right for me, doesn’t necessarily make it right for everyone. And I hate the thought that someone may be disappointed in something I recommended.

Even with Thought Pops, I have taken a passive marketing approach…simply linking to my Facebook page and Twitter account and hoping that maybe one of my friends will take the time to read it.

But that’s all gonna change now. I’m making an aggressive move. People can now subscribe to Thought Pops and have it delivered to their email.

At the bottom left tool bar on Thought Pops, you will see a section marked “Follow Blog Via Email.” Click on the “Follow” button, answer a question or two and technology will magically email you when there is a new post.

self promo 1

This fabulous new feature has been added in response to requests from readers, so I guess that makes it less “aggressive marketing” and more “you asked, we listened,” but hey…if I can get two more people who like to read my random thoughts on life, it will bring a smile to my face.

But I can’t lie, I’m still worried so to those of you disappointed, I’m sorry…and it still feels a little like shameless self-promotion to me.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shameless Self-Promotion

  1. Miriam

    This post made me smile 🙂 I’m awful at selling, marketing, self-promotion etc. And some days it seems like that’s the name of the game, and if you’re no good at it you’re doomed to blog in obscurity. But I prefer bloggers that have real substance and aren’t just trying to sell me something, so I think there is still a definite niche for people like us 🙂
    I have a lot of followers now- more than enough, considering that only a handful of people seem to read regularly anyway. But I’m a complete failure at twitter and facebook for blog promotion. I quit twitter because I wasn’t willing to take the time to figure it out, and although I use facebook regularly in my personal life I can’t seem to figure out how to have an active page for my blog. I’ve always had the email option but I don’t think many people prefer that now- I don’t even use email much any more.

    Like

  2. No no no. If you’re good you’re good. So you shouldn’t see it as self-promotion you are actually just doing humanity a favour by allowing more people easier access to your brilliance…

    Good in you!! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

