Know Thyself

Standard

selfawareness 3

I recently read an article that almost made me spit coffee on my laptop.

It wasn’t a bad article overall, fairly well-written and a topic is one that I think about frequently…don’t sweat the small stuff. Great advice overall, but it really got me thinking about self-awareness…or lack thereof.

Now I’m not going to tell you, gentle reader, that I never go over the top thinking of stupid little things that send me into a wild rage. For example, it drives me insane when my family can’t walk the extra two steps to the garbage can when they open a new gallon of milk and instead leave the little blue ring laying on the counter. I have actually exploded with rage about this. Even thinking about it is raising my blood pressure to new heights!

But I digress. I am consistently amazed when I see people talking about how they would never do something “like that,” when they do it all the time! The very definition of “hypocrisy” is “a pretense of having a virtuous character, moral or religious beliefs or principles, etc., that one does not really possess.” Pretty clear and something you would think people would understand. But that understanding apparently doesn’t stop it from happening. You often see celebrities who come out publically against drunk driving, and two days later, you see their mug shot on TMZ for driving under the influence. If you stop and think about it, I bet you can remember an incident with a friend who said they hate “X” and go buy it the next day.

It really is about self-awareness. We are all human and will slip from time to time, but I think we all need to really think about who we are, what we believe and if our actions demonstrate that belief. And if we can’t see it, hopefully we have good family and friends to point it out.

The family has made it a game to find clever places to leave the damn blue ring…that have nothing to do with the garbage can. Yes, it still throws me into an unreasonable frenzy, it does remind me to not sweat the small stuff.

“Know thyself” indeed.

 

Leave a Reply

