Ten Things I Wish Someone Told Me

Standard

10 - 1

We all get advice everyday…some that we follow and some that we don’t.

I was thinking recently of some of the things that I wish someone had told me when I was young, so here are my ten things, in no particular order:

1) Get into an exercise regime early in life. Trust me on this…at 20 years old, you don’t necessarily need to, but I promise by 40, you will.
2) Get a double oven. Seriously.
3) Enjoy each and every moment with your children…because you will blink and they will be gone.
4) Watch the occasional stupid movie…if nothing else, they provide a truckload of catch phrases.
5) Stop worrying about what people think of you in junior high school. Those are the people who will end up “living in a van down by the river.”
6) Never burn bridges. Ever.
7) Surround yourself with people who make you laugh.
8) Be open to new things. Food, colors, activities you’ve never tried before. If it doesn’t work, you can always order pizza, repaint the room or leave the airshow.
9) Look for a house that has a separate slop sink. Seriously.
10) Send positivity out and it will return ten-fold.

I know the last one is a little new age-y, but it’s true. And I know the whole list is pretty simple and has likely been said before, but simple is always best. Finally, I pretty sure I was told all of the above at some point in my life and, looking back, I guess I wish I’d listened more. Especially about the slop sink.

 

Leave a Reply

