Decisions, Decisions

Standard

decisions 2

Decisions aren’t always easy.

As an NFL-level “Monday Morning Quarterback”, I often look back on my decisions and realize I chose poorly. Which then causes regrets.

I can’t lie; I find a number of decisions in my life regrettable. Some are small, like having a bad day simply because I chose to wear a shirt that ended up not comfortable or attractive on me. Some were larger, like deciding to attend one event when I should have chosen another one that turned out to be THE event of the year. Some even bigger, like accepting a job and discovering within literally the first hour that it wasn’t a good fit.

But through the years, I have learned that this process, ending with the regret, is enormously unproductive. Through a long maturing process, I can now see that I make decisions based on the best information that I have available at the time. And I’m comfortable that I make a concerted effort to gather all the data I can and get different perspectives to base my choices on.

Sadly, all too often, additional information comes to light later that would have definitely pushed me in another direction, but I have learned not to beat myself up about it. At that point, I simply focus on making the best of the situation.

In other words, I try to accept the things I cannot change, find the courage to change the things I can, and hope for the wisdom to know the difference.

Now I just need to decide what to have for breakfast…decisions, decisions…

2 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions

Leave a Reply

