The Beat of Life

Standard

music 3

Now that I have more time alone in the house, I have rediscovered music.

Music has always been an important part of my life. My parents believed in music lessons to round out a personality, so I took violin and guitar lessons as a child. Sadly, none of it stuck.

I also was involved in our church choir, where I was nothing if not a strong alto…sometimes too strong. And, having older sisters, I was introduced to pop and rock music very early on. The bonus for me? My sisters’ varied in their tastes…one was a Barry Manilow fan and the other leaned more toward Led Zeppelin.

Music has always been the subtext of my life. But as I got older, life got in the way and the soundtrack mysteriously switched from Rush and Hootie and the Blowfish to Disney. (Dammed if I can’t still sing all the words to Under the Sea and Beauty and the Beast…)

As the kids developed their own musical tastes and music came back in the house, I realized what I had been missing and asked for and received an iPod for Christmas. Once my daughter loaded it for me (I’m not the most technically advanced human on the planet), it became the thing that gets me through the day.

My music comes with me everywhere…when I work out…when I clean house…when I’m writing. I’ve even discovered this winter in Chi-beria that snow shoveling is not that bad when you have Pitbull, Usher and Will Smith as company. Van Morrison is the perfect reading companion. And cleaning the kitchen goes much quicker with vintage Prince, Janet Jackson and Vanilla Ice.

The continued bonus for me? Somehow my iPod got linked to the “cloud” so every song the kids download magically appears on my iPod! Every time I listen, it’s like Christmas in July because I never know when a new song will appear! One day at work, I was cranking along and suddenly Alice Cooper wanted to “Feed My Frankenstein”…terrific…terrific!

As a result, I likely have one of the most eclectic playlist in the world. Oldies from the 60’s (“Build Me Up Buttercup” by The Foundations), 70’s (“Takin’ Care of Business” by BTO) and 80’s (“Seventeen” by Winger) join more contemporary hits from the 90’s (“Mysterious Ways” by U2) and this century (“It’s Been Awhile” by Staind). Show tunes play right after Ted Nugent (“Stranglehold”) and AC/DC (“Thunderstruck”) follows Jay-Z (“99 Problems”) on shuffle. My extensive Dave Matthews Band collection joins Mutemath (check out “Armistice”) and Macklemore (“Thrift Shop” is still fun) to lift my mood and my day.

Not every day is a symphony but I keep plucking away because my music provides the beat of life.

 

2 thoughts on “The Beat of Life

  1. I’m the same way. I adore music, but I sort of stopped listening to it when the kids were little (except in the car). And I’m finding some great music through my kids now that I’m older!

    Loved the post. Thanks!

    Like

    • Not only do the kids help keep me somewhat “current” but I’m introducing them to some of the old stuff…and of course to the Dave Matthews Band.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

