Love the One You’re With

Standard

Valentine

On the eve of Valentine’s Day, Cupid takes flight.  But he doesn’t always bring hearts and flowers.

When I was young, there were a number of Valentine’s Day where Cupid seemingly forgot where I lived.  But as I got older, I realized that my Valentine’s Day did not have to center around what someone else would do for me to prove their love on February 14.  It (finally) dawned on me that love didn’t – and shouldn’t – just come once a year.  It didn’t mean candy and flowers or even that special gift that showed that the boy in my life really did “understand” me.  Love is about the simple things…a hug, a smile, a reminder to wear gloves, a phone call to “…just say hey!”  The things that we can each do everyday to show that we care.  Not only about our loved ones but about those that need our attention.

I also realized that I didn’t need a “special someone” but that I could love the one I’m with all the time…me.  Now for some people, (I think they are professionally classified as “narcissists”) this is not a problem.  But I think for most people, we are generally so wrapped up worrying about what other people think and if they love us that we forget to love ourselves.

So two things to remember:  1)  February 14 shouldn’t be the only day that you show you care, and 2)  Share your love not only with others, but also with yourself.

To quote Crosby, Stills and Nash, “When you can’t be with the one you love, love the one you’re with.”

Leave a Reply

